Named Professorships granted to 22 faculty members

A third round of professors has been chosen to receive named professorships from the President and Provost's Named Professorship Program, which was established in 2000.

The professorships, established by the administration to honor outstanding tenured professors, consist of a title and an annual salary supplement at a rate determined by the provost. The current rate is \$5,000 per academic year. The recipients are expected to exemplify standards of excellence in the performance of teaching, research and service within their discipline and profession. They can hold the appointments until they retire, resign or otherwise leave FSU.

The professorships not only honor their recipients, but are intended as tributes to former faculty members or administrators whose performance at FSU was recognizably outstanding or as tributes to other distinguished people from off campus in the various academic disciplines.

The 22 recipients are:

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

• **Bruce T. Boehrer**, Bertram H. Davis Professor of English, department of English;

• Allan J. Clarke, Adrian E. Gill Professor of Oceanography, department of oceanography;

• Elbio R. Dagotto, Edward A. Desloge Professor of Physics, department of physics;

• Naresh S. Dalal, Dirac Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry and biochemistry;

• William K. Dewar, Pierre Welander Professor of Oceanography, department of oceanography;

• William Ross Ellington, Michael J. Greenberg Professor of Biological Science, department of biological science;

• Roberto G. Fernandez, Dorothy Lois Breen Hoffman Professor of Modern Languages and Linguistics, department of modern languages and linguistics;

• Alan R. Lang, R. Robert Browning Professor of Psychology, department of psychology;

• Sharon E. Nicholson, Heinz and Katharina Lettau Professor of Climatology, department of meteorology;

• **Doron Nof**, Fridtjof Nansen Professor of Oceanography, department of oceanography;

• William H. Outlaw Jr., Peter H. Homann Professor of Biological Science, department of biological science;

• Stephan von Molnar, Robert A. Kromhout Professor of Physics, department of physics;

• Mark D. Winegardner, Janet G. Burroway Professor of English, department of English;

• Sherwood W. Wise Jr., Lyman D. Toulmin Professor of Geological Sciences, department of geological sciences. COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

• **Ronald E. Goldsmith**, Richard M. Baker Professor of Marketing, department of marketing.

COLLEGE OF COMMUNICATION

• Gary R. Heald, Theodore Clevenger, Jr., Professor of Communication, department of communication.

SCHOOL OF CRMINOLOGY AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE

• Thomas G. Blomberg, Sheldon L. Messinger Professor of Criminology. COLLEGE OF HUMAN SCIENCES

• Shridhar K. Sathe, D. K. Salunkhe Professor of Food Science, department of nutrition, food and exercise sciences. COLLEGE OF LAW

• John B. Ruhl, Joseph Story Professor of Law.

SCHOOL OF MUSIC

• Roy E. Delp, Walter S. James Professor of Voice.

COLLEGE OF SOCIAL SCIENCES

• Isaac W. Eberstein, Charles Meade Grigg Professor of Sociology, department of sociology.

RECRUITMENT NAMED PROFESSOR-SHIPS (for new faculty members soon to arrive on campus)

• John M. Geringer (will arrive fall 2002), Lewis V. Pankaskie Professor of Music, School of Music.